Da English Language

‎”So avoid using the word ‘very’ because it’s lazy. A man is not very tired, he is exhausted. Don’t use very sad, use morose. Language was invented for one reason, boys – to woo women – and, in that endeavor, laziness will not do. It also won’t do in your essays.”                  ― John Keating

One of my favorite quotes, but…

The english language is as confusing as Rosie O’Donnell wearing a dress. We are given a language where ‘their’, ‘they’re’ and ‘there’ all sound the same but mean different things given the context of the sentence used. We stick commas where we please and add exclamation points to sentences that do not necessarily show excitement. We don’t have enough energy to use ‘going to’ so we stick to ‘gonna’ or my favorite (to make fun of) alternative ‘finna’.

You would think since I enjoy voluntarily writing blurbs hoping anyone with eyes wants to read them I would be more knowledgable in the English language. I am not ashamed to admit I am far from it, but happy to say I do not use ‘finna’ on a daily basis. My most recent purchases were the Associated Press Stylebook and Strunk and White’s The Elements of Style, which I will start reading once I find out if Dumbledore lives and Harry defeats Voldemort and marries Ginny. I only wish I was a modern day Ernest Hemingway or William Faulkner (not counting the god awful publication of The Sound and Fury). I am young and still have so much to learn about anything and everything, like the difference between affect and effect. Yeah, I don’t think I will ever understand that one. Time to learn Italian.

Music Choice“Take a Fall for Me” by James Blake Ft. RZA. Chillin’. Killin’. Feel good music for the people who don’t feel so good today.

One thought on “Da English Language

What do you think?

